daily happenings

your life is probably a movie, too.

I’ve been too concerned with myself recently to experience other people’s amazing moments. I have, however, been overcome with the feeling that I’m in a movie more than one time in the past week.

One time I was in a restaurant. The vibe made me feel like I was in an Indie film. My waiter (server? stewardess? flight attendant? I can’t keep up.) and I had some sort of connection. Naturally, I had an out-of-body experience in which I saw myself instigate a series of events that never would have happened in real life. I was confident and careless. It made me wonder about some things.

Another time was last night. I was walking home from cleaning about seven-hundred yoga mats and decided to reward myself with some Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked (the fro-yo kind, though). Thank goodness for 7-Eleven. When I walked in, I was in a Rom-Com. I was the pathetic girl routinely indulging in a pint of ice cream, wondering if the sales clerk had memorized her “I don’t need a bag” comment. An 80s one-hit-wonder played in the background. A boy (man?) had just run into the Subway next door to get a $5 foot-long. He was planning on eating one half for a late-night dinner while watching a documentary about climbing Mount Everest; he didn’t realize he was lonely. He would eat the other half at work the next day. The film would follow our respective lives, almost crossing, but never quite making it. Actually, maybe this was a Rom-Dram or something. Anyways, it also made me think about some things.

In addition to all that, I’ve been concentrating on smiling when I walk down the street. I want to spread pure happiness. It’s all about taking one step at a time.

Standard

3 thoughts on “your life is probably a movie, too.

  1. Stuie says:

    Your writing reminds me of David Sedaris and once we get you on Ira Glass’s “This American Life”, you will be instantly famous too! Anyone out there have any connections with Ira? Keep writing Clarkie. It’s your calling!

Leave a Reply

