introspection

goodbye; hello.

So, goodbye, twenty-ten. You started out with a bang. You taught me some things. I can’t believe you’re over, but I’m not, like, crying about you’re departure either. Hello, twenty-eleven. I can’t wait to meet you.

I had forgotten—until the midnight countdown at this super cool party I went to last night—that we are entering a new decade. (Some people count last year as the start of a new decade, and some people count this year as the start. I think I counted last year. Maybe some people count every year. I don’t think it matters.) I also neglected to realize that today is 1.1.11 until I read it on someone’s twitter. I guess it’s a pretty big day.

I’ve been a jokester about this new year. I’ve been saying things to people like, “Is that who you want to be in 2011?” “Do you want to be boring? Because if you choose those tights, you’ll be boring.” “In 2011, do you want to be the guy who sits around waiting for other people to start dancing, or do you want to be the one who gets the dancing started?” I thought I was being sarcastic, but I was actually being kind of deep and serious.

Making my way home from ringin’ in two-thousand-eleven, dodging pools of vomit on the sidewalk, patting myself on the back for being in control of my actions, I thought about how superstitious I am about NYE. I don’t think it’s dumb.

I’m really excited about this year. Today’s a lucky day. It’s kind of like when the clock says 11:11. If you caught the clock at 11:11 today, good for you. That’s the time to make a wish. I think I may set an alarm for 11:11 tonight. I’ll make a wish then. And it will probably come true. Sometimes planning to look at the clock at 11:11 is just as lucky as doing it by chance.

This year’s all about making things happen. And off we go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

