daily happenings

i don’t even like cats.

I was sitting next to this woman on the train the other day. She was so mad at the person on the other end of the phone. She said, “I can’t tell you how to live your life. I can’t tell you to get up and get a job.” There was a pause. “What’s wrong?” she said, “Cat got your tongue?” I felt like she was talking to me.

She left the train, not without asking again if the person on the other end’s tongue had been caught by a cat. I hope he told her that yes, the cat came and took his tongue. He would get back to her about his future as soon as he could get it back.

Sometimes I want to tell people that: I’m sorry, the cat has my tongue; I will certainly reply as soon as I am able to retrieve it. Thank you very much.

Standard

Leave a Reply

