daily happenings, growing up

i really did try.

Let’s get back to normal, shall we?

I’m just going to say that not having internet at home makes it harder to blog. Good thing I purchased almost all the necessary equipment to get cyberspace up and running. Too bad I forgot just that one cord.

I’m upset about the fact that I have not been recording all of these little adventures from my week. My mind has been full of ideas and stories. There’s so much to blog about. I need to prioritize.

First things first, I really need to talk about the grocery store.

Last night, my new roommate (my brother) and I ventured to the grocery. We had no food; placing that first item in the cabinet needed to happen immediately. It was going to be monumental for me. He was just hungry. I was so excited about it that I even clipped coupons. My dad should be so proud.

My brother picked me up after work, at about 7:00. He was tired from driving from the suburbs. He got mad when I told him we needed to go to a different store than the one he thought was most convenient. I told him it made more sense. I had no explanation. I was nervous about getting in a wreck when he looked at his phone.

I didn’t make a grocery list (hello, it would be SO LONG), so, in a stroke of genius, I grabbed my Alice Waters Art of Simple Food book from its new place on the kitchen shelf as I dashed out the door, obviously forgetting my keys. I thought I was brilliant. You see, I went through a phase a few years ago (back in the meal plan days) where I would read this cookbook before bed. I needed to lean about cooking. And, last night, I remembered that Alice so nicely prefaced her book with a list of all the essential items every kitchen should have. She even breaks the list into categories. I thought it was a great idea.

I whipped the book out in the store, and my method was denied. As the younger sibling, I obeyed. BUT, I just need to say that I probably wouldn’t have purchased any boxed macaroni and cheese had I been following the list. I don’t think Kraft, or Velveeta, or even Annie’s falls under the category of “Simple Food.” You live and learn, as the saying goes. Next time, I’ll remember the consequences, but I can’t say I’m too upset about it.

Grocery shopping is going to be so much fun.

Standard

3 thoughts on “i really did try.

  1. Marika says:

    AHH grocery shopping! Do you remember our days of searching European groceries (ahem…Gstaad…) talking about when we’d actually have a need for BUYING food at them one day?? you’re THERE. craziness.

  2. cathe says:

    i need to know about everything that has been going on in your life. preferably, through the blog. or i’ll call you, but blog too. the world needs it.

Leave a Reply

